Presentation Evening rounds off season

A week after the end of the cricket season, Dartington and Totnes Cricket Club held their annual dinner and awards evening at The Royal Seven Stars Hotel in Totnes.

It marked the end of what had been a mixed season for the club with the First Eleven finishing fifth in the C Division West, and the Second Eleven sadly being relegated from the F Division West.

Captain Harold Stevenson said in his speech that the first eleven had finished mid-table despite suffering some narrow defeats while chairman Mick Rusling thanked overseas player Matt Sevior, who has now returned to Australia, for all his efforts at the club, both on and off the field. Stevenson also thanked the volunteers who help with scoring, umpiring, running the bar and the other tasks which keep the club going.

Matt Sevior won the First Eleven batting award for scoring 391 runs in his first season in England. The ever-reliable Chris Cook won the bowling award for taking 27 wickets at an average of 11 to go with 329 runs with the bat.

The Second Eleven batsman of the year was Scott Colegate for his 298 runs despite playing only 7 games. His brother Glenn was bowler of the year for taking 16 wickets and scoring 225 runs while batting.

Fielder of the year was Harry Baxendale, most improved player was Joe Parker and young player of the year was Josh Bowhay. The club’s Player of the Year was James Howrihane who finished the season with 214 runs and 20 wickets.

The final award, Clubman of the Year, was awarded to Kevan Throgmorton. Known to most as KT, he organises the weekly all-stars session for young players which sees about 70 young children enjoying junior cricket on Friday evenings at the club. The award recognises KT’s hard work and the importance of developing and encouraging young players.

Comments are closed.